SaladPower vs. Gummies: Vegetables vs. Isolated Nutrients

SaladPower vs. Gummies: Vegetables vs. Isolated Nutrients

15 minutes read

One SaladPower pouch is 5 to 6 cups of vegetables. Against the 3 daily servings recommended in the Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2025-2030, that is roughly 2x the recommended daily vegetable intake, and it arrives with 5 g of fiber, 727 mg of potassium, 909 mcg of vitamin A, 16 mg of vitamin C and 5 mg of iron, from six whole organic ingredients with 0 g of added sugar.

A gummy vitamin is a different thing entirely: a dietary supplement holding a short list of isolated or synthetic nutrients in a sugar and pectin or gelatin base. That structural difference, not marketing, is why the two are measured in different units. A supplement is dosed in milligrams of a named compound. A vegetable is measured in cups of produce. This article compares three gummy labels, read on the brands' own websites, against the SaladPower Nutrition Facts panel.

What is actually on the SaladPower panel

SaladPower is a food, not a supplement. One 8 oz pouch, one serving per container, six USDA Certified Organic ingredients: carrot, spinach, apple, kale, broccoli and lemon. It is commercially processed, sealed and shelf-stable. Nothing is added, and no nutrient is fortified in.

Per 8 oz pouch Amount % Daily Value
Calories 90
Total Fat 0 g
Sodium 90 mg 4%
Total Carbohydrate 21 g 8%
Dietary Fiber 5 g 18%
Total Sugars 11 g (0 g added)
Protein 2 g
Vitamin A 909 mcg 100%
Vitamin C 16 mg 20%
Iron 5 mg 30%
Potassium 727 mg 15%
Vitamin D 0 0%

One pouch is 5 to 6 cups of vegetables, roughly 2x the recommended daily vegetable intake. The 11 g of total sugars are the sugars naturally present in carrot, apple and lemon; the added sugars line reads 0 g. Because those 21 g of carbohydrate and 11 g of natural sugar are real, SaladPower is not a keto product and is not positioned as diabetic-friendly. At 90 mg of sodium it is a low-sodium food rather than an electrolyte replacement. At 2 g protein is supplementary. Vitamin K, calcium and magnesium are all present but below the level at which it is honest to call the pouch a source of them, which is why they are not claimed here. See can you get enough magnesium from food for where magnesium actually comes from, and is SaladPower a good source of fiber for the fiber detail.

What is actually in a gummy: three labels

Rather than assert a category average, here is what three widely sold gummies publish on their own product pages. These are three specific products, not a survey of the category. Formulations vary widely, and a "zero sugar" version exists for several of these lines.

Product (label read on the brand's site) Label serving Sugars on the panel Plant material on the panel First two "other ingredients"
Goli Supergreens Gummies (goli.com) 2 gummies; suggested use 2 gummies twice daily Total Sugars 2.5 g per gummy, so 5 g per 2-gummy serving. The product page does not print an Added Sugars line or calories. Supergreens & Probiotics Blend 127.5 mg per gummy (255 mg per serving), listing artichoke leaf extract, spirulina, Bacillus subtilis, aloe vera, kale, moringa leaf, broccoli, barley grass, chlorella, parsley, spinach and celery Cane Sugar, Tapioca Syrup
Nature's Way Alive! Adult Premium Gummy Multivitamin (naturesway.com) 3 gummies Total Sugars 4 g; Includes Added Sugars 4 g (8% DV). Calories 30. Orchard Fruits & Garden Veggies Powder Blend 200 mg, listing 26 fruits and vegetables including carrot, beet, broccoli, spinach, cabbage and asparagus Organic tapioca syrup, cane sugar
SmartyPants Adult Plus Multi & Omegas (smartypantsvitamins.com) 3 gummies The product page shows the Supplement Facts panel as an image only, so no sugar figure was legible to read and none is quoted here. Not stated in the readable page text Organic Cane Sugar, Organic Tapioca Syrup

Two things are consistent across all three. Sugar is the first or second listed non-active ingredient, because the sugar is the delivery vehicle rather than an additive. And the plant material, where it is present at all, is measured in hundreds of milligrams. Two hundred milligrams is roughly a fifth of a gram. A cup of raw spinach weighs about 30 grams. The powder blend is real, and it is not a serving of vegetables. To their credit, none of these three brands claims that it is.

How much added sugar is that in context?

The American Heart Association's scientific statement on dietary sugars sets a prudent upper limit at half the discretionary calorie allowance, which the statement puts at no more than 100 calories per day from added sugars for most American women and no more than 150 calories per day for most American men (Johnson and colleagues, Circulation, 2009). At 4 calories per gram, that is about 25 g and about 37 g respectively.

Against that, 4 g of added sugars from a daily multivitamin gummy is roughly 16% of the women's limit and 11% of the men's. That is not trivial and it is not alarming. It is a real line item worth knowing about, particularly for anyone taking two or three different gummy products daily, where the totals add up. SaladPower's added sugars line reads 0 g. Anyone counting added sugars closely should read the panel on the specific bottle in front of them, because the range across products is wide.

What a vegetable delivers that an isolated nutrient does not

Three things travel with vegetables and do not travel with a milligram of an isolated vitamin.

Fiber. Fiber is not a single substance. It is a family of plant carbohydrates that behave differently in the gut: some ferment and feed the colonic microbiota, some hold water and add stool bulk, some slow gastric emptying and contribute to fullness (Slavin, Nutrients, 2013). No isolated vitamin does any of that. Reynolds and colleagues, in a series of systematic reviews and meta-analyses in The Lancet in 2019, treated dietary fiber as one of the central markers of carbohydrate quality across a large body of observational and trial data. None of the three gummy labels above prints a Dietary Fiber line. SaladPower prints 5 g, 18% of the Daily Value.

Potassium. Potassium is a bulky mineral, and vegetables are among its main dietary sources. Delivering a meaningful fraction of the Daily Value takes hundreds of milligrams, which is difficult to fit inside a candy-sized dose and is not attempted on any of the three labels above. A SaladPower pouch carries 727 mg, 15% of the Daily Value.

Carotenoids in food form. This is the clearest contrast on the labels. Both Goli and Nature's Way list their vitamin A as retinyl palmitate, a synthesized form added to the mix. In a vegetable, vitamin A activity comes from provitamin A carotenoids such as beta-carotene that the plant made and that the body converts as needed. SaladPower's 909 mcg, 100% of the Daily Value, is carrot, spinach and kale.

None of this makes a supplement bad. It makes a supplement a supplement. The point is only that the two formats are not interchangeable, and that treating them as interchangeable leads people to think a gap is closed when it is not.

Does supplementing substitute for eating vegetables?

On the specific question of whether taking vitamins substitutes for a better diet, the US Preventive Services Task Force reviewed the evidence and concluded in JAMA in 2022 that the current evidence is insufficient to assess the balance of benefits and harms of supplementation with multivitamins, or with single and paired nutrients, for the primary prevention of cardiovascular disease or cancer in generally healthy, non-pregnant adults. Insufficient evidence is not the same as evidence of no effect. It means the question has not been settled by the trials that exist.

Meanwhile the observational literature on the food itself is large. Aune and colleagues, in the International Journal of Epidemiology in 2017, pooled prospective cohort studies and reported that higher fruit and vegetable intake was associated with lower risk of cardiovascular disease, total cancer and all-cause mortality. That body of work is built on diets and on cups of produce. It is observational, it describes populations rather than individuals, and it does not attach to any product, including this one. It is cited here for a narrow reason: the unit of measurement in the evidence base is a serving of vegetables, which is why a milligram figure on a supplement panel cannot be read across to it.

How large is the gap being discussed?

The Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2025-2030 set the target at 3 vegetable servings a day at a 2,000 calorie intake, where a serving is 1 cup raw or cooked or 2 cups of leafy greens. CDC surveillance published in MMWR in 2022 (Lee and colleagues, using 2019 Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System data) found that 10.0% of US adults met the vegetable intake recommendation. Roughly nine in ten adults do not.

A few hundred milligrams of vegetable powder does not move a gap of that size, and the manufacturers are not claiming it does. One SaladPower pouch is 5 to 6 cups, roughly 2x the recommendation, which is the size of tool the gap actually calls for. More on the underlying arithmetic in how many servings of vegetables per day and what happens if you don't eat vegetables.

Side by side

Attribute SaladPower (1 pouch) Goli Supergreens (2 gummies) Alive! Adult Premium (3 gummies)
Regulatory category Food Dietary supplement Dietary supplement
Calories 90 Not printed on the product page 30
Total sugars 11 g 5 g 4 g
Added sugars 0 g No Added Sugars line on the product page; cane sugar and tapioca syrup lead the other ingredients 4 g (8% DV)
Dietary fiber 5 g (18% DV) Not on the panel Not on the panel
Potassium 727 mg (15% DV) Not on the panel Not on the panel
Vitamin A 909 mcg (100% DV), from the vegetables themselves 113 mcg per gummy as retinyl palmitate (226 mcg per serving) 900 mcg as retinyl palmitate (100% DV)
Vitamin C 16 mg (20% DV) Not on the panel 90 mg (100% DV)
Vitamin D 0 Not on the panel 30 mcg (150% DV)
Plant material 8 oz of six whole organic ingredients, 5 to 6 cups of vegetables 255 mg blend 200 mg blend
USDA Certified Organic Yes Not stated on the page Not stated for the finished product
Best at Vegetable intake in a food format, at roughly 2x the daily recommendation A palatable daily habit with a small nutrient top-up Broad micronutrient coverage including vitamin D and B12

When a supplement is the right tool

  • Nutrients that vegetables do not contain. Vitamin D and vitamin B12 are the clearest examples. Vitamin D and B12 do not occur in vegetables, so a supplement that adds them covers something no vegetable does. If a physician has flagged either one, a supplement is the appropriate answer and a vegetable is not.
  • Pill-swallowing difficulty. A chewable format solves a real problem for people who cannot swallow capsules.
  • Cost. SaladPower is $6.21 per pouch on the 30-pack subscription and up to $9.00 per pouch at the smallest size, which is more than most daily gummies cost. It is priced as certified organic produce, and we discuss exactly where that goes in why SaladPower is expensive.

What 1,566 SaladPower customers actually say

Published SaladPower reviews collected through Okendo, n = 1,566. Average rating 4.83, and 96.1% say they would recommend it. None of these reviews were incentivized.

Theme mentioned Share of 1,566 reviews
Convenience, speed, no prep 35.8%
Taste, positive 22.1%
Daily habit or subscription 18.5%
Ingredients, organic, clean 14.8%
Price or value 11.0%
Energy 4.7%
Kids or family 4.5%
Digestion or regularity 4.3%
Taste described as earthy or an acquired taste 3.3%

The negative reviews are useful too. Of the 61 reviews rated 3 stars or below, 43 are about taste, 15 about price and 6 about texture. A gummy is engineered to taste good, and a pouch of spinach, kale and broccoli tastes like spinach, kale and broccoli. Usage patterns in the reviews show the common workarounds: 15.2% drink it very cold or over ice, 10.1% blend it into a smoothie, 8.8% use it in place of a meal, and 2.0% mix it into a sauce or soup.

Which format fits which job

If your goal is The better fit Why
Eating more vegetables on days you will not cook A whole-vegetable food format Fiber, potassium and food-form carotenoids only come with the food
Closing the gap between 3 recommended servings and what you actually eat A whole-vegetable food format One SaladPower pouch is 5 to 6 cups, roughly 2x the daily recommendation
Correcting a documented vitamin D or B12 shortfall A supplement Vitamin D and B12 do not occur in vegetables
Broad micronutrient insurance at low cost A multivitamin, gummy or otherwise That is exactly what the format is built for
Getting a child to take something daily Depends on the goal For a named nutrient, a supplement. For vegetable intake, a vegetable
Both of the above Both They are not substitutes and there is no known interaction between a food and a standard adult multivitamin

If you are comparing across the whole convenience-nutrition category rather than just gummies, see SaladPower vs. greens powders, SaladPower vs. AG1, SaladPower vs. sports greens and SaladPower vs. liquid salad. For diversity of plants rather than quantity, see how many different plants per week.

Frequently asked questions

How many cups of vegetables are in one SaladPower pouch?

Five to six cups. The Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2025-2030 recommend 3 vegetable servings a day at a 2,000 calorie intake, so one 8 oz pouch is roughly 2x the recommended daily vegetable intake. It comes from six whole organic ingredients, carrot, spinach, apple, kale, broccoli and lemon, with nothing added. The greens gummies we read list 255 mg and 200 mg of plant powder per serving, which is a fraction of a gram.

Are greens gummies the same as eating vegetables?

No, and the labels show why. The two greens and veggie blends we read list 255 mg and 200 mg of plant powder per serving. That is a fraction of a gram. Neither label prints a dietary fiber or potassium line, which are two of the things vegetables actually deliver. The manufacturers do not claim their products are a serving of vegetables.

How much sugar is in a gummy vitamin?

It depends entirely on the product, so read the panel rather than trusting a category number. Of the labels we read, Nature's Way Alive! Adult Premium Gummy Multivitamin lists 4 g of total sugars and 4 g of added sugars (8% DV) per 3-gummy serving, and Goli Supergreens Gummies lists 2.5 g of total sugars per gummy, which is 5 g per 2-gummy serving. Several brands also sell zero sugar versions of the same lines.

Does SaladPower contain added sugar?

No. The panel reads 0 g of added sugars. It does contain 11 g of total sugars, which are the sugars naturally present in the organic carrot, apple and lemon in the blend.

Is SaladPower a multivitamin?

No. It is a food and it is not fortified. The vitamin A, vitamin C, iron and potassium on its panel are what is naturally in the six ingredients. It contains no vitamin D and no vitamin B12, so it does not replace a multivitamin if you take one for those.

Can I take a gummy vitamin and drink SaladPower?

Yes. They do different jobs and there is no known interaction between a food and a standard adult multivitamin. If you take medication with known food or nutrient interactions, such as warfarin and vitamin K, or thyroid medication and cruciferous vegetables, talk to your physician or pharmacist first.

The bottom line

If the thing you are short on is vegetables, which for roughly nine in ten American adults it is, the answer has to come in the form of food. One SaladPower pouch is 5 to 6 cups of vegetables, roughly 2x the recommended daily intake, with 5 g of fiber, 727 mg of potassium and 100% DV vitamin A from the produce itself and 0 g of added sugar. A gummy vitamin is a well-made delivery system for a short list of named nutrients: cheap, pleasant, easy to take daily, and the right choice if what you are short on is vitamin D or B12. It is not vegetables, it is not sold as vegetables, and the plant powder inside it is measured in fractions of a gram.

Sources

  • US Department of Agriculture and US Department of Health and Human Services. Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2025-2030, current edition. Vegetable servings by calorie level, 3 servings per day at 2,000 calories. realfood.gov
  • Johnson RK, Appel LJ, Brands M, et al. "Dietary Sugars Intake and Cardiovascular Health: A Scientific Statement From the American Heart Association." Circulation 2009;120(11):1011-1020. https://doi.org/10.1161/CIRCULATIONAHA.109.192627
  • US Preventive Services Task Force. "Vitamin, Mineral, and Multivitamin Supplementation to Prevent Cardiovascular Disease and Cancer: US Preventive Services Task Force Recommendation Statement." JAMA 2022;327(23):2326. https://doi.org/10.1001/jama.2022.8970
  • Reynolds A, Mann J, Cummings J, et al. "Carbohydrate quality and human health: a series of systematic reviews and meta-analyses." The Lancet 2019;393(10170):434-445. https://doi.org/10.1016/S0140-6736(18)31809-9
  • Aune D, Giovannucci E, Boffetta P, et al. "Fruit and vegetable intake and the risk of cardiovascular disease, total cancer and all-cause mortality: a systematic review and dose-response meta-analysis of prospective studies." International Journal of Epidemiology 2017;46(3):1029-1056. https://doi.org/10.1093/ije/dyw319
  • Slavin J. "Fiber and Prebiotics: Mechanisms and Health Benefits." Nutrients 2013;5(4):1417-1435. https://doi.org/10.3390/nu5041417
  • Lee SH, Moore LV, Park S, Harris DM, Blanck HM. "Adults Meeting Fruit and Vegetable Intake Recommendations, United States, 2019." MMWR Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report 2022;71(1):1-9.
  • Goli Supergreens Gummies. Supplement Facts and other ingredients as published by the brand. https://goli.com/products/1-bottle-of-supergreens-gummies
  • Nature's Way Alive! Adult Premium Gummy Multivitamin. Supplement Facts and other ingredients as published by the brand. https://naturesway.com/products/alive-premium-adult-multivitamin-gummies
  • SmartyPants Adult Plus Multi & Omegas. Other ingredients line as published by the brand. The Supplement Facts panel on this page is published as an image, so no figures from it are quoted in this article. https://www.smartypantsvitamins.com/products/multi-and-omegas
  • SaladPower Nutrition Facts panel, 8 oz pouch. Vegetable volume per pouch from third-party testing commissioned by the manufacturer.
  • SaladPower published customer reviews collected through Okendo, n = 1,566.

Category figures in this article were verified against published product labels and cited sources. Formulations and pricing change; check current labels before relying on any figure here.

This article is educational and is not medical advice. Consult your physician or a registered dietitian before changing your diet, particularly if you take medications with known food or nutrient interactions, or if you have kidney disease, oxalate sensitivity or a diagnosed medical condition.

All claims about Goli, Nature's Way and SmartyPants in this article were taken from each brand's own website. Formulations and pricing change; check the current label before relying on any figure here.

These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.

Close-up of fresh curly kale leaves

Drink Your Vegetables®

The easiest way on planet earth to get real whole organic vegetables daily

SaladPower organic smoothie pouch listing 16 spinach leaves, 12 kale leaves, 5 carrots, 4 broccoli heads, 1/2 apple and 1/4 lemon SaladPower® Real produce pouch
Shop now