SaladPower is six whole organic ingredients, carrot, spinach, apple, kale, broccoli and lemon, blended with the fiber left in and nothing added. One 8 oz pouch is 5 to 6 cups of vegetables, and against the 3 daily servings recommended in the Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2025-2030, that is roughly 2x the recommended daily vegetable intake.
It carries 100% DV vitamin A, 30% DV iron, 20% DV vitamin C, 15% DV potassium and 5 g of fiber, every number of it from the produce, with 0 g of added sugar and no sweetener of any kind. Liquid Salad answers the same convenience question with a different model: a formulated 120 g pouch built on apple puree, 36 declared items, an added prebiotic fiber matrix and 12 added vitamins. Neither model is wrong. The honest comparison is on specifics, and we read both labels on the brands' own sites.
At a glance
One caveat before the numbers. The two pouches are not the same size. Liquid Salad's is 120 g and SaladPower's is 8 oz, roughly twice as much liquid, so nothing below is size-normalized. Read every per-pouch figure with that in mind.
| SaladPower | Liquid Salad (Liquid+) | |
|---|---|---|
| Serving | 8 oz pouch | 120 g pouch |
| Declared ingredients | 6 | 36 (brand advertises "35+") |
| First ingredient | Organic spinach | Apple puree |
| Added vitamins or minerals | None | 12, all vitamins, no added minerals |
| Added fiber | None | Yes, a chicory root inulin and acacia fiber matrix |
| Calories | 90 | 50 (stevia) or 60 (apple juice) |
| Fiber | 5 g (18% DV) | 8 g (28% DV) |
| Total sugars | 11 g, 0 g added | 5 g, 0 g added (stevia) or 9 g, 4 g added (apple juice) |
| Protein | 2 g | 0 g |
| Sweetener | None | Stevia (rebaudioside M) or apple juice concentrate |
| Organic | USDA Certified Organic | No organic claim made on its site |
| Price per pouch | $6.21 on the 30-pack subscription, up to $9.00 at the smallest size | $2.00 on the 28-pouch subscription, $2.50 one time |
The question worth asking of any vegetable drink: where did the nutrients come from?
A Nutrition Facts panel does not tell you whether a nutrient arrived in the food or was added to it. The ingredient list does. If a micronutrient appears on the panel and its name also appears on the ingredient list, usually inside a parenthetical blend, it was added as an isolated nutrient. If it appears on the panel but nowhere on the ingredient list, it came from the food itself.
Run that check on SaladPower and there is nothing to find, because there is no added blend. The ingredient list is organic spinach, kale, carrot, broccoli, apple and lemon, and every number on the panel is what those six ingredients brought with them.
Run it on Liquid Salad and the structure is different, and disclosed. Its panel lists 15 micronutrients. Twelve of them, vitamin C, niacin, vitamin E, pantothenic acid, vitamin B6, riboflavin, thiamin, folate, vitamin A, biotin, vitamin D and vitamin B12, are named inside the "liquid+ vitamin boost" on the ingredient list, so they were added. The other three, calcium, iron and potassium, are not in the added blend, so those came from the produce. There are no added minerals in the product at all.
Nutrients at or above 10% DV per pouch
Ten percent of the Daily Value is the regulatory threshold below which a food is not considered a meaningful source of a nutrient. Anything under it is noise, and we have left our own below-threshold nutrients out of this table for that reason.
| Nutrient | SaladPower (from food) | Liquid Salad (A = added, F = from food) |
|---|---|---|
| Vitamin A | 909 mcg, 100% DV | 130 mcg, 15% DV (A) |
| Vitamin C | 16 mg, 20% DV | 100 mg, 110% DV (A) |
| Iron | 5 mg, 30% DV | 2.8 mg, 15% DV (F) |
| Potassium | 727 mg, 15% DV | 780 mg, 15% DV (F) |
| Dietary fiber | 5 g, 18% DV | 8 g, 28% DV |
| Vitamin D | 0 | 3.3 mcg, 20% DV (A) |
| Vitamin E | Not declared | 6.5 mg, 45% DV (A) |
| Thiamin | Not declared | 0.43 mg, 35% DV (A) |
| Riboflavin | Not declared | 0.76 mg, 60% DV (A) |
| Niacin | Not declared | 6.7 mg, 40% DV (A) |
| Vitamin B6 | Not declared | 1.2 mg, 70% DV (A) |
| Folate | Not declared | 145 mcg DFE, 35% DV (A) |
| Vitamin B12 | Not declared | 1.7 mcg, 70% DV (A) |
| Biotin | Not declared | 29.8 mcg, 100% DV (A) |
| Pantothenic acid | Not declared | 1.9 mg, 40% DV (A) |
On the nutrients that came from food, SaladPower leads: vitamin A at 100% DV and iron at 30% DV, because carrot, spinach and kale are dense in both. Liquid Salad covers more micronutrients in total, and it covers them by adding twelve of them to the formula. Calcium sits at 6% DV on both labels, and SaladPower's vitamin K (8% DV) and magnesium (4% DV) fall under the threshold, so none of those is a meaningful source in either product. If magnesium specifically is what you are chasing, food sources will serve you far better than either pouch.
Puree, powder, extract, isolate: what the words on an ingredient list mean
Ingredient lists use precise words for genuinely different things, and the difference is worth knowing on any product in this category.
- Puree is the whole food, softened and blended. Fiber and cell structure are largely intact.
- Powder is the food with the water removed. Most of the plant material is still there, but it has been dried, which typically means heat.
- Extract is a selected fraction of the plant, pulled out with a solvent. Most of the original food is deliberately left behind.
- Juice concentrate is juice with the water removed and, in most cases, the fiber already gone.
- Isolate is a single purified compound, such as chicory root inulin or a synthesized vitamin, added on its own.
SaladPower's declaration has no powders, no extracts, no concentrates and no isolates. Six whole organic ingredients go in, blended with the fiber left in, and the product is commercially processed, sealed and shelf-stable.
Here is how Liquid Salad's apple-juice declaration breaks down by form, counted from the label.
| Form | Count | Items |
|---|---|---|
| Purees | 4 | Apple, cucumber, celery, kale |
| Powders | 10 | Konjac root, pineapple, ginger root, okra, wheatgrass, broccoli, chlorella, artichoke, enoki mushroom, spirulina |
| Extract powders | 2 | Blood orange, mango |
| Extracts | 3 | Peppermint, lemon balm, mulberry leaf |
| Juice concentrates | 2 | Apple, lemon |
| Isolated fibers | 2 | Chicory root inulin, acacia fiber |
| Isolated vitamins | 12 | The "liquid+ vitamin boost" |
| Water | 1 | Water |
Four items on the declaration are purees, and apple is the first of them. Okra and broccoli are listed as powders rather than purees. The fiber matrix as declared is chicory root inulin, acacia fiber, konjac root powder, pineapple powder, ginger root powder, peppermint extract and lemon balm extract.
Fiber: how much, and where it came from
SaladPower delivers 5 g of fiber per 8 oz pouch, 18% DV, and all of it arrived inside the six vegetables and fruits. Liquid Salad delivers 8 g per 120 g pouch, 28% DV, a total that includes isolated prebiotic fibers added to the formula, chiefly chicory root inulin and acacia fiber.
Added prebiotic fibers are not a lesser ingredient. They are among the best-studied fibers there are, and Slavin's 2013 review in Nutrients covers the mechanisms and documented benefits of both fiber generally and prebiotics specifically. Liquid Salad's own site recommends starting at one pouch a day and increasing gradually so the gut adapts, which is sensible guidance for any concentrated inulin product.
Whether you prefer fiber added to a formula or fiber that arrived inside the vegetable is a genuine preference, not a right answer. If you want the longer version of how we think about it, we wrote one: is SaladPower a good source of fiber.
Sugar, sweetener, and a repositioning
SaladPower contains no sweetener of any kind. The 11 g of sugar on its panel is what is inside a serving of apple, carrot and lemon, and 0 g of it is added.
Liquid Salad now leads with apple juice. Its homepage headline reads "Your veggies & fiber, now sweetened with apple juice," followed by "Goodbye, stevia." The apple-juice version is flagged "Brand New" on the product page and is the preselected option, though the stevia version remains available to buy. That version adds 4 g of sugar on purpose, a formulation choice made for flavor, and the brand is upfront that the product is meant to taste, in its own words, "like sweet apple with a hint of veggies."
| Calories | Total carb | Total sugars | Added sugars | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SaladPower | 90 | 21 g | 11 g | 0 g |
| Liquid Salad, stevia | 50 | 16 g | 5 g | 0 g |
| Liquid Salad, apple juice | 60 | 17 g | 9 g | 4 g |
Liquid Salad is lower in total carbohydrate in both versions. At 21 g of carbohydrate and 11 g of naturally occurring sugar, SaladPower is not a low-carb, keto or diabetic-friendly product and we do not market it as one.
Price per serving
| Pack | Price | Per pouch | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Liquid Salad, subscription | 28 pouches | $55.99 | $2.00 |
| Liquid Salad, one time | 28 pouches | $69.99 | $2.50 |
| SaladPower, subscription | 30 pouches | Subscription rate | $6.21 |
| SaladPower, one time | 30 pouches | $219.00 | $7.30 |
| SaladPower, one time | 6 pouches | $54.00 | $9.00 |
SaladPower is the more expensive pouch, and the reason is the input. Certified organic whole produce, at volume, in a larger pouch, is an expensive way to build a beverage, and we have written separately about exactly where that cost comes from.
What each site discloses about sourcing
| SaladPower | Liquid Salad | |
|---|---|---|
| Organic certification | USDA Certified Organic, stated on the product page | No organic claim; the word does not appear on the product page or homepage |
| Ingredient origin | "USDA Certified Organic farms," no countries or regions named | Not disclosed |
USDA organic certification governs how the crop was grown, and every one of SaladPower's six ingredients carries it. Liquid Salad makes no organic claim on its product page or its homepage.
Taste, and what 1,566 customers say
Liquid Salad is engineered to taste sweet, and says so. SaladPower is not, and tastes like vegetables. That is the single biggest experiential difference between the two, and it is the thing most likely to determine whether you finish the box.
We can put numbers on our side of it. Across 1,566 published SaladPower customer reviews collected through Okendo, the average rating is 4.83 and 96.1% would recommend the product. None of those reviews were incentivized.
| What reviewers mention | Share of 1,566 reviews |
|---|---|
| Convenience, speed, no prep | 35.8% |
| Taste, positive | 22.1% |
| Daily habit or subscription | 18.5% |
| Ingredients, organic, clean | 14.8% |
| Price or value | 11.0% |
| Energy | 4.7% |
| Kids or family | 4.5% |
| Digestion or regularity | 4.3% |
| Taste described as earthy or an acquired taste | 3.3% |
The unflattering half is useful too. Of the 61 reviews rated three stars or below, 43 are about taste, 15 about price and 6 about texture, which is the predictable cost of not adding a sweetener. Our customers route around it: 15.2% say they drink it very cold or over ice, 10.1% blend it into a smoothie, 8.8% use it in place of a meal and 2.0% stir it into a sauce or soup.
Why any of this matters
The reason this category exists is that almost nobody hits the target. CDC analysis of 2019 national survey data found that 10.0% of US adults met vegetable intake recommendations and 12.3% met fruit recommendations. Population research on vegetable and fiber intake, including Aune and colleagues' 2017 dose-response meta-analysis in the International Journal of Epidemiology and the Reynolds 2019 series in The Lancet, is the body of work behind the standing advice to eat more vegetables and more fiber.
SaladPower closes that gap in one pouch: 5 to 6 cups of vegetables, roughly 2x the recommended daily vegetable intake, with nothing added. Liquid Salad's version is a smaller, cheaper, sweeter pouch that combines some real produce with added fiber and added vitamins. If you are working out what your own target should be, start with how many servings of vegetables per day, and if you care about variety rather than volume, how many different plants per week is the more useful frame.
Which one fits you
| If your priority is | Choose |
|---|---|
| The largest volume of actual vegetables per pouch | SaladPower |
| Certified organic ingredients | SaladPower |
| Nutrition that came from food rather than a blend | SaladPower |
| Vitamin A and iron density | SaladPower |
| A short label you can read in one breath | SaladPower |
| No sweetener of any kind | SaladPower |
| Lowest cost per serving | Liquid Salad |
| Most fiber per pouch | Liquid Salad |
| Lowest sugar and carbohydrate | Liquid Salad |
| Broad micronutrient coverage, added | Liquid Salad |
| A sweet taste you will not have to push through | Liquid Salad |
| Plant variety in a single product | Liquid Salad |
SaladPower is not trying to win a specification sheet. It is produce you drink: a short label where the vegetable on the front is the vegetable in the pouch, 5 to 6 cups of vegetables in a serving, and nothing added. If you want a wider comparison across the category, SaladPower versus greens powders covers the powder-based products.
Frequently asked questions
How many cups of vegetables are in one SaladPower pouch? Five to six cups. The Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2025-2030 recommend 3 vegetable servings a day at a 2,000 calorie intake, so one 8 oz pouch is roughly 2x the recommended daily vegetable intake. It comes from six whole organic ingredients, carrot, spinach, apple, kale, broccoli and lemon, with nothing added.
How many vitamins and minerals does Liquid Salad add? Twelve, and all twelve are vitamins. Its "liquid+ vitamin boost" lists vitamin C, niacin, vitamin E, pantothenic acid, vitamin B6, riboflavin, thiamin, folate, vitamin A, biotin, vitamin D and vitamin B12. No minerals are added. Its Nutrition Facts panel shows 15 micronutrients in total, so the three minerals on the panel, calcium, iron and potassium, came from the food rather than from the added blend. SaladPower adds nothing at all, so every nutrient on its panel came from the produce.
Does Liquid Salad contain real vegetables or powders? Both, and the label distinguishes them. Four ingredients are purees: apple, cucumber, celery and kale. Okra, broccoli, wheatgrass, chlorella, artichoke, enoki mushroom, spirulina, konjac root, pineapple and ginger root are listed as powders, and blood orange and mango are listed as extract powders. SaladPower's label lists six whole organic ingredients and no powders, extracts or isolates.
Where does the fiber in each pouch come from? SaladPower's 5 g per 8 oz pouch (18% DV) is entirely what the six whole ingredients contained, with no isolated fiber added. Liquid Salad's 8 g per 120 g pouch (28% DV) includes isolated prebiotic fibers added to the formula, chiefly chicory root inulin and acacia fiber.
Is Liquid Salad organic? It makes no organic claim. The word "organic" does not appear on its product page or homepage, and it does not disclose where its ingredients are grown. SaladPower is USDA Certified Organic.
Sources
- Liquid+ salad product page. Ingredient declarations for both versions, both Nutrition Facts panels, serving size, pricing and FAQ. https://www.drinkliquidplus.com/products/liquid-salad
- Liquid+ homepage. "Your veggies & fiber, now sweetened with apple juice" and "Goodbye, stevia." https://www.drinkliquidplus.com/
- SaladPower product page. Six whole organic ingredients, USDA Certified Organic, pack pricing. https://www.saladpower.com/products/saladpower
- SaladPower customer reviews via Okendo. n = 1,566 published reviews, average 4.83, 96.1% would recommend, zero incentivized.
- USDA and HHS. Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2025-2030. Vegetable servings by calorie level, 3 servings per day at 2,000 calories. https://www.realfood.gov
- Lee SH, Moore LV, Park S, Harris DM, Blanck HM. "Adults Meeting Fruit and Vegetable Intake Recommendations, United States, 2019." MMWR Morb Mortal Wkly Rep 2022;71:1-9. https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/71/wr/mm7101a1.htm
- Slavin J. "Fiber and Prebiotics: Mechanisms and Health Benefits." Nutrients 2013;5(4):1417-1435. doi:10.3390/nu5041417
- Aune D, Giovannucci E, Boffetta P, et al. "Fruit and vegetable intake and the risk of cardiovascular disease, total cancer and all-cause mortality: a systematic review and dose-response meta-analysis of prospective studies." Int J Epidemiol 2017;46(3):1029-1056. doi:10.1093/ije/dyw319
- Reynolds A, Mann J, Cummings J, Winter N, Mete E, Te Morenga L. "Carbohydrate quality and human health: a series of systematic reviews and meta-analyses." The Lancet 2019;393(10170):434-445. doi:10.1016/S0140-6736(18)31809-9
- US Food and Drug Administration. Nutrition labeling nutrient content claim thresholds, used here for the 10% Daily Value "good source" reference point.
All claims about Liquid Salad in this article were taken from Liquid Salad's own website, drinkliquidplus.com. Formulations and pricing change; check the current label before relying on any figure here.
These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.
Six ingredients. Nothing added. Drink Your Vegetables.®
Try SaladPower →